“Contemporvant” Worship

I love the kind of dry, sarcastic humour that is featured on such places as The Onion (or its Christian counterparts, Larknews and Landover Baptist Church–“Where the Worthwhile Worship, Unsaved Unwelcome”). It’s amazing how much enjoyment I get out of seeing something–or somebody–portrayed in all its transparent stereotypicality.

So imagine my delight when some friends emailed me the video below! I have often waxed eloquent about the pitfalls of contemporary worship, especially the performance mentality and formula-driven songs and sets. This captures it all . . .

“Sunday’s Coming” Movie Trailer from North Point Media on Vimeo.

(Thanks guys! I had a laugh–and a cry at the same time. So often it’s so true . . .)

*  *  *  *  *

A New Kind of Christianity (Trade Paperback)Brian McLaren’s A New Kind of Christianity is NOW AVAILABLE IN AUSTRALIA in paperback for only $19.95 at Koorong–plenty in stock, and a 3-day web sale on now (20% off).

One thought on ““Contemporvant” Worship

  1. Ha ha ha ha, that is so true!! I am so over being a part of that. And I highly recommend the McLaren book.

Leave a Reply

