The Gospel According to Aaron

Aaron WeissAaron Weiss is the frontman in the band mewithoutYou. His take on Christian culture is radical and confronting–and insightful. I found this article and thought I had to share it because it challenges me on on lot of levels about how I live my life.

Here’s a snippet:

“… I’d say Christian pop culture errs on that side of Jesus is my best friend. It’s almost become a joke, Christianity’s attempt to make Jesus so palatable or attractive. Whatever you want, Jesus will do for you. The problem is that when Jesus demands that we sell our possessions and give to the poor—Well, if that were your best friend, I’m guessing you’d say, ‘Nah, that’s probably bad advice.’ If that’s the person of God, the spirit of God incarnate telling you to sell your possessions and give to the poor, I think we would take that more seriously.” Then he added quickly, “But I’m a hypocrite. ‘Quit using your thousand-dollar guitars to play songs about how you don’t need material possessions.’ Believe me, I think about quitting so often.”

This is actually an excerpt from the book by Daniel Radosh, Rapture Ready: Adventures in the Parallel Universe of Christian pop Culture.

Read the whole excerpt here…

Leave a Reply

