Jesus Pictures

Wow! Obviously we all have our own concept of who Jesus is, but some pictures of him blow my mind. I’d like to ask the artist, “What the heck were you thinking when you painted these?”

The internet is a great place to find Jesus pictures! These are from the Jesus Needs New PR blog. (Click the link for the whole collection.) There are plenty more where they came from, and some very funny captioning too!

Pictures of Jesus inevitably reflect the viewpoint of the painter or the message they are attempting to convey. But some of them make me wonder whatever prompted that portrait? This one’s called “Light of the World.” OK. Biblical reference is there, but this looks more like “Superhero Jesus” or “Jesus Meets ET” than anything else.

2 thoughts on “Jesus Pictures

  1. Hi, I am a first grade teacher in Illinois. I wanted to use the picture of Jesus as the light of the world, but the store told me I need copyright permission. Would there be any way that this is your picture and would you be willing to talk to someone about me using it on a poster? I just want to teach the children about Jesus. Thanks for any help you can give me.

    • Sorry Penny. It isn’t mine and I can’t tell you where I found it, but you could do a search for similar pictures on Google Images and see what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

