Theological Correctness

Bob Ellis on ABC’s The Drum Unleashed page has written a thought-provoking article on what he calls “theological correctness.” He writes:

It applies to those who genuflect to a system of thought they despise (and, in some cases, suspect of organised pederasty) in order to further their political, business or academic ambitions.

It applies as well to those who say “so help me, God” in the witness box and those who murmur the Lord’s Prayer in Parliament House or sing Christian hymns at funerals despite having spent their adult lives in revolt against religion. . . .

. . . This is theological correctness too. It is an unexamined premise, like the Lord’s Prayer, uttered without caveat for political or commercial reasons hypocritically, corruptly or (mostly) lazily by men and women in quest of a quiet life.

In the article he addresses the war in Afghanisatan, detention centres, free trade, and numerous other issues that evidence his understanding of this phenomenon. To read the full article, click here.

I often think when routinely praying the Lord’s Prayer in our staff gatherings or liturgies how genuinely I am desiring what I am asking God to do. Do I want his will to be done? Am I really asking him to forgive my sins in the same way as I forgive others? (I hope he forgives me much more than that!)

I remember a friend of mine who used to stop singing in church when she didn’t believe her life lined up with the words she was singing (i.e. “All to Jesus I surrender”). That’s something to think about: in how many songs would our own voices need to be silent?

I guess Bob Ellis’ idea of theological correctness applies to me as well. . . .

Leave a Reply

