I’m Blessed?

Many might say I’ve been blessed.

I have a good life with my wonderful partner, Vicki. I have two great kids who are becoming balanced, well-adjusted young adults (at least I think they evidence this more often than not these days). They both attend a reputable private school and are doing well academically.  We live comfortably in a quiet suburb in a home that is around halfway paid off. I have a good job that bring great satisfaction, working with caring and talented people. I drive a decent car, eat healthy food, don’t suffer from any major diseases or health problems, belong to a good church and count it a privilege to have some good friends and a loving family. I’m not boasting; things aren’t perfect, but my life is relatively good.

I’m ‘blessed.’

But . . . what about my neighbour who suffers from ill health constantly? What about my friend who lost his wife to cancer? What about my work colleague who isn’t experiencing the same sort of thrill from her job as I am? What about my buddy who lost his job recently and now stands to lose his home? The list that goes on indefinitely, including the people who recently lost all in tornadoes, tsunamis, floods, and epidemics. Some live in third world countries where poverty is a given. Some only have one small meal a day . . . or every other day.

Rather than seeing my life as being one graced with material ‘blessings,’ I would say that I am fortunate. I have the good fortune to have been born in a nation that enjoys a high standard of living, has good hospitals, infrastructure, schools, safe workplaces, and abundant crops. I am fortunate to have been born into a loving family and to have completed, without much struggle, a university education.

But if I say ‘I am blessed’ as evidenced by all these circumstances, relationships and possessions, then that implies there are some who are cursed (evidenced by a lack of what I have) or, at the best, not blessed as I have been.

I cannot believe that God would choose to favour me with all sorts of earthly gifts as a sign of his blessing and leave my neighbour, whom God loves just as much as me, with so little of the same. Certainly if the rain falls on ‘the just and the unjust,’ then God does not show favouritism in blessing one and withholding the blessing from another.

We are surely fortunate. But I dare say this has, if anything, robbed us of the blessings that can only be discovered when we are not distracted by glitz and glamour of things. The blessings of God–love, peace, hope, joy–fall on those whose hands are most ready to receive, those hearts are not listening to the call of ‘more’ and whose eyes are fixed on the Giver of every perfect gift rather than on poor substitutes.

My fortunate life may, in fact, keep me from realising the greatest blessings of all. . . . something which many of those we would not immediately see as ‘blessed’ understand and enjoy better than we.

Who, then, is truly fortunate?

2 thoughts on “I’m Blessed?

  1. I WAS 15 AND MOM HAD 6 MO TO LIVE, I LOST MY DIRECTION AND ELISTEND IN THE ARMY NATHIONAL GUARD, I MET A MAN THAT SAID IF YOU AND YOUR MOM BELEAVES , SHE WILL BE OK, I CALLED MOM AND WE PRAYED, 32 YRS LATER MOM AND I ARE OK GOD IS EVERYTHING ,

  2. I WANTED TO THANK THE GUY THAT TOLD ME TO PRAY WITH MY MOM AND LOOKED HIM UP IN MY YEAR BOOK ,BUT THERE WAS NO SUCH PERSON, THANKS FOR EVERYTHING

    LOVE DOUG

Leave a Reply

