Back to the Future?

Wow! What creativity flows from some people! I am impressed by the olde worlde charm of one Datamancer who re-creates the old-fashioned timeless look with state-of-the-art computer components.

‘Steampunk’ laptop computer (Genuine HP internals)

Not that I’m an antique buff or love the “retro” (if by that you mean the 1890s) look, but I would love to have one of these. This is not to say I reject my iPad and my Acer Notebook. It just seems more ‘special’ to have the stamp of history on something. Perhaps it makes it look more solid, permanent, timeless, long-lasting. Regardless, I don’t think I’ll be getting a Steampunk anytime in the near future (unless the ‘Lotto gods’ smile on me?), but it doesn’t hurt to dream.

The ‘Clacker’

For those of you who don’t like the laptop feel, maybe you can go for the full desktop treatment. The ‘Clacker’ is a prototype, but pre-orders are being taken, so get in quick because with such post-contemporary styling, they’re bound to be snapped up!

Leave a Reply

