The Miracle of Creation

I have been following The Hidalgo Grain Company blog for a while now and, having come from much the same place as the author, I can understand his ravings against fundamentalism and Biblical literalism. I understand. Sometimes things that well-meaning (but ignorant) people say can be very hard to swallow, especially when they claim that their reasoning is “scientific.”

This brings me to this post and a look at Creation a la Hidalgo Grain Company where he explains (from his point of view) what is a “creationist” and questions that have arisen in his mind about their understanding of divine revelation.

In the summer of 1976, my dad bought me a telescope at Sears and I spent multiple hours peering through the eyepiece. Like astronomers of old, I tracked the four major moons of Jupiter, the phases of Venus, peered at Saturn’s rings (the most distant planet I could clearly observe) – I even had an adapter to plot sunspots moving across our own nearby star. Then there was the Moon; a dry, dead world that came alive through my telescope’s eyepiece, especially when viewed as a waxing crescent on a clear evening. Eventually I learned most of the stars, their class and their distance, also the locations of various nebulae, clusters and galaxies. It was a time when Psalm 8:3, 4 became very real…

stars3 When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers,
the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained;
4 what is man, that thou art mindful of him?
and the son of man, that thou visitest him?

It was this part of the verse, “…the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars…” which still causes me to go back to Genesis, Chapter One and re-examine the creation account –

And, invariably, I come up with questions…

Day 1 – the Earth was formless (no shape) and void (empty) – God said, “Let there be light.”

– Before “Let there be light”, what was there? Dark? But, you can’t have “dark” without light, so is this formless, empty pre-Earth dwelling in some unknown plane of existence?

– At no point is it recorded that God said, “Let there be time” – but somehow we already have literal 24-hour days? (Not to mention there is no Sun, Moon or stars, yet.)

– Speaking of Time, what is it? Why do we perceive it? Why is it asymmetric?

(Read the rest of this post here.)

2 thoughts on “The Miracle of Creation

Leave a Reply

